Indigo problems

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Mirrorpool
Indigo problems

I have been using hendigo for several years and could use some advice.  I recently started using Zekhara after using Sudina indigo for several years.  However it seems that the mix is not working.  Instead of a darker indigo, it seems that I am ending up with a “watered” down henna, my roots are a blondish orange (my natural roots are white). My henna isn’t old, I purchased it in Sept and have been storing it in the freezer since.  I am washing my hair in dish soap beforehand, adding salt to the indigo, nothing has changed but the kind of indigo.  I’m a little dumbfounded. 

A separate “issue”:  I have never been able to get a brown with the hendigo.  The most I can get is a cool and dark red.  If I up the amount of indigo I end up not having enough henna in the mix to do a deep dye on my roots, they end up very light.  I understand that indigo doesn’t stick to white hair very well, but I can’t even get brown on the first day.  I have been leaving the mixture in for about 2 hrs (I do a 50/50 mix and use Alma for my dye release) because that is what I was reading here years ago when I started using henna (as the henna would outlast the indigo).  Now it seems that it is recommended that hendigo is to be left on longer.  Would this help at all?

Thanks!

m_moore
admin
Good afternoon!

Good afternoon!

I have a few questions-

1) Do you freeze your indigo?

2) What is your process before using a henna/indigo mixture?

3) Do you use conditioner on a regular basis?

I would suggest leaving it on for about 4 hours.   If you have resistent gray, you could even try a rainwash before using henna and indigo. http://www.mehandi.com/shop/rainwash/index.html

~Maria

Mirrorpool
 Re: Indigo problems

1. No, I don’t freeze the indigo.