First time doing Henna

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
ajackson
First time doing Henna
I would like to try henna with the highest lawsone content, but there is also henna for African hair. Since this is my first time I am unsure which I should pick and which would be best for my dreads. I was also wondering if anyone had experience with henna and using dyes like Manic Panic that don't contain PPD and how that worked out for them. I would like to henna most of my hair but make the back a bright teal or electric blue. But I wont be bleaching my hair and I know it wont be as bright, Im just concerned at how the henna will react. Thanks in advance for the help.
ACWN
Re: First time doing Henna

Henna for African Hair would be the best for your dreads, it rinses out the easiest. If you're after the most red possible, mix it with something fairly acidic into a lumpy paste (don't worry about mixing it smooth yet)... let it dye release. Once you have an orange peel colored stain on your palm, mix smooth (mixes easier this way for some reason) and put the henna paste in ziplocks, mush the ziplocks flat and freeze.

Once frozen, take out and thaw at room temp. Apply heavily like cake frosting and leave on for 5 - 6 hours.

Now... in regards to veggie dyes with henna... Do not apply the henna to where you want the blue or teal - you will get a very funky result. Bad funky. And you will have to wash that hair separately the entire time its in your hair. The dye will bleed into the rest of your hair and for some reason, it will stick.

I had this happen to me in the past. I had my bangs bleached out and dyed emerald green, the rest was copper orange from henna. I didn't separate my bangs and where the henna touched my bangs turned a weird brown. And it stuck. Permanently.

So you can definitely do it, but you'll need to keep them separate from each other.

ajackson