New here, need some help with the reddest hue I can get on my already-dyed hair!

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
xostali
New here, need some help with the reddest hue I can get on my already-dyed hair!
Hello, all. I have been lurking here for a bit, and after reading the ebook and many of the threads on this forum, I have decided to ask for some advice.

I am planning to henna my hair, for the first time, sometime next month. My roots grow in dark brown with silver shot through them here and there, but I have been dyeing my hair red for many years, and for the last couple with Garnier Nutrisse 76 Hot Tamale Rich Auburn Blonde (http://i.pgcdn.com/pi/1/83/12/18312435_640.jpg), which turns it a shade I absolutely love (http://www.flickr.com/photos/xostali/12747350804/ - it's way more brilliant in direct sunlight). I'd post a link to my natural hair color, but the last time I grew it out was in 1999, so I have no idea where to find a photo...I was already getting silver hairs at 21, so I decided to go back to dyeing, and if I was dyeing, it was gonna be red. ;)

I am trying to stop damaging my hair so much (it's thin and fine, prone to dryness and breakage) and grow it out as long as I can, so I want to switch to henna. I know that all my new growth will end up dark with a reddish tint and lighter highlights from the silvers...that's fine. I'll get used to it. It's going to take a long time to grow out the color I already have, though, and I want to enjoy the brightness while I can.