new to henna help please

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
rhinotam
new to henna help please
looking to henna for the first time (scary). I have never colored my hair,  and and worried about screwing it up-lol. my natural color is a dark copper/auburn, curly,  3/4 of the way down my back.  I am now getting grays that I would like to cover,  but  also want to stay as close to my natural color as I can.  I am just worried it will come out a Flaming red. .... Please help and suggest a brand, amount, mix, time, etc ?????
Thank you! !
scared newbie
Clouds_Descending
Re: new to henna help please
It's scary at first, but once you make that jump to henna, you'll be so glad you did! I've been using henna for 3 years, after almost 20 years of chemical dye.

The most important thing to know about henna is to ONLY use pure, lab tested henna, such as what is sold on mehandi.com. The second most important thing to know is it is completely permanent. So once you do your full head, you will only ever need to do your roots as they grow in.

In order to keep your curl, I would recommend you skip lemon juice or any other juices and use amla as the acid to dye release. Amla will help your hair retain its texture.

As for the henna, I think you will be very happy with the Twilight henna, and for the length of your hair I would suggest purchasing the 500g box and mixing the entire thing. (You'll likely have leftover henna, but that can be frozen and used to dye your roots next time. I always prefer to have too much than not enough!) Twilight is the highest dye content crop Mehandi currently has, and therefore gives the best grey coverage.

* For 500g of henna, you will want 125g of Amla.

* Mix both powders with water (approximately a cup of liquid for every 100g, but the goal is a mixture about the consistency of mashed potatoes.)

* Leave it on the kitchen counter in a bowl covered with plastic wrap- you want the plastic wrap touching the paste for about 8-12 hours.