My Adventures in Punky Colour

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
Cheryl_hiccups
My Adventures in Punky Colour

Some might remember that I was trying to find a way to tone away the most of the red from henna. The backstory is that I have been using henna for nearly 2 years. I love how henna protects my hair. I have the sort of hair that gets faded and has split ends if you as much as so boo at it, but not since I've begun using henna. I also have some obnoxious large flake dandruff issues. Henna helps quite a bit with that as well.

I am over the red color, though. It doesn't look bad, but it isn't my best look and I really want to be able to wear burgundy again without having my hair clash. My hair is a medium brown, almost a dark brown. I use Jamilla overnight and get a cherry cola tone that isn't quite all the way to the eggplant color some get. I do have some dark blond hair sprinkled in, particularly at my hairline around my face. I have very minimal amount of grays.

I had tried using buxus to tone the red, but I just had too much fading and it took a lot of effort to get saturation. Also, I don't think the buxus has enough green in it to get to the shade I was wanting anyway. I have avoided indigo, because I know I would not be pleased if my hair went too dark and it was permanent.