How can I fix my bright orange hair?

This is my first time using henna.  I read lots of info and then dared... A friend suggested that leaving the henna on for just 30 minutes might be make it less saturated... 

My hair was blonde (colored with Herbiceuticals Naturcolor, which uses peroxide - so a peroxide-bleached blonde) - pretty with many different shades, 20% concealed grey.  

Mixed henna (Dulham, 100% bought in an Indian grocery, used about 50 grams) with Realemon juice, left for 1 day out of fridge, 1 day in fridge to release dye. (Friend said that letting it sit longer would make it less intense.) 

Other friend (also a newbie) put it on me today - taking 40 minutes to put on.  I left it on for another 30 minutes.  Then rinsed and showered. Way too Little Orphan Annie or Pippi Longstocking. Arghhh!  Not what I had in mind & not flattering to my skin coloring.  It is oxidizing a bit, so not quite so horrible, but what can help it?  

what effect will it have if I put on more  henna (Rajasthan) and leave it on for at least 4 hours?  or even longer? 

What effect will it have if I put on an indigo/conditioner gloss for 15 minutes?  

Any other suggestions?  I read somewhere the using red wine or coffee might do something - at least until I shampoo - anybody know? 

Thanks so much!!!

No offense to your friend, but you shouldnt have listened to them. Chemically damaged hair, especially chemically lightened hair, tends to go very orange and stay very orange (speaking from experience here). Leaving it on 30 minutes is going to result in orange - as you found out. Also, health food store bought henna tends to be pretty weak stuff in general and you need to leave it on a fairly long time to get anything besides orange.