First Fair

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Seryph
First Fair

Hey guys,

Well I've been hennaing for about three years now, on myself and friends that stop moving long enough. Anyways, in a couple of weeks I have my first gig, I'm slinging at a steampunk bazaar and I just need some advice.

I'm only going to be taking small basicy designs that I know I can do quickly and well, though I'm not entirely sure how much to charge. I know like the Henna Caravan Fivers book, but I'm in the UK and I don't know how much people will pay here. Does anyone know, or could roughly guess?

I usually mix my henna with lemon juice and balsamic vinagar, and use lavender for my terp. Should I take terped henna or should I just mix up a batch without?

Oh, and information sheets, about black henna and stuff. I know someone was talking about them on here somewhere, but now I can't find them!

Thanks guys.

Mani
Re: First Fair

Since almost all festival artists price their work by size and complexity, the HC Fun Fivers book is a good place to start determining your prices.  Not sure what the dollars to pounds conversion rate is right now, but that will give you a starting point at least.  Definitely take terped paste.  Terped paste gives better, longer lasting stains and I would imagine that the lavender covers the vinegar smell.  Incidently, why both vinegar and lemon juice?  One acid should be sufficient, why the extra step?  Not saying there is anything wrong with it, so long as you are getting good stains, just curious.  I'm not sure where you can find info sheets, etc... but if you know the aftercare instructions and black henna warnings (and you should know them by heart before doing henna on the paying public), you can type them up and print them yourself.  That way, you can add your contact information so happy customers can look you up for private appointments.  Hope you have a successful first time out! 

Seryph

Yeah I know the black henna and care guide stuff by heart.