Is it possible to have coppery/orange results with henna/cassia?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
CopperCurls
Is it possible to have coppery/orange results with henna/cassia?

Hello everyone!

I have never used henna before, but I have been reading on this site for over a year (not the forums, just the shopping pages and ebook), and every time I mention to a new hair dresser that I am thinking of switching to henna (as my hair care routine is VERY natural except the dye I use (Redken Color Fushion and Shades EQ) they all cringe and say to stay away from the horrid stuff since I have dyed my hair for the past 15 years. I understand about issues in the past with compound hennas and not knowing what is actually IN the powder and chemical dyes, but my real hesitancy is of my own doing.

I have dyed my hair for over 15 years (not sure if it's PPD free now), and everyone I meet assumes I have natural red hair. It is that gorgeous, rare, bright coppery orange, Irish "red" and it looks just stunning with my pure white skin and freckles. I even have Scottish heritage, so everyone justs puts it all together and always talks of how I was blessed with such gorgeous colored hair. The fact that it is almost touching my thighs makes it all the more attention getting.

I do not want to change my color in any way, just hope to change HOW I get it that shade, as I am so devoted to natural/gentle hair care, and I feel like such a traitor when I dye it every 3 weeks.