Jagua body art safety.

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
BlueMoon
Jagua body art safety.

I've been a henna artist for 12 years but only recently heard about jagua for black temp tatoos. I saw someone doing them and questioned them about the whole PPD black henna issue and they said it was a fruit and does not have PPD. Does anyone know anything about any negative health issues, allergies or warnings associated with this? I did learn that the jagua fruit contains caffeine. Any thoughts from other henna artists about adding jagua black tatoos to your business? I definitely don't want my customers to think I'm using PPD or start any confusion about the black henna issue.

Lori B.
Re: Jagua body art safety.

I'm not sure how or if caffiene is taken up by skin. I do have a heart condition though that is agravated by caffeine so I'm on a restricted diet. (God I miss real coffee.) If I was having a large tattoo done I personally wouldn't want it to be done with something that contains caffiene just in case. It might not be a bad idea to warn your clients of the caffiene content. That would protect you as much as them.

Malynda

Jagua.  I've seen it.  I'm not impressed.  I've never used it myself, though I have heard from first-hand accounts that it is sticky, hard to use and difficult to achieve any good detail.  I've seen the stain many times and it is a mottled bluish-grey, not black.  One of my henna clients reported localized hives a few days after having jagua applied.  If you want a great, long-lasting black body art, go with "Harquus Platinum" from Mehandi.com here: 

http://www.mehandi.com/shop/harquusplatinum/index.html

It goes on easy, stays black, and lasts a week with minimal care.

ladytetsu

I have played with it from a few different sources, but only on myself.  I'm not sure the uncertainty about it is worth applying it to clients just yet.  I personally did not note any allergic reactions, but that's a data sample of one.  I'm not sold yet.  Harquus kicks butt.