Loss of Curl

24 posts / 0 new
Last post
mgib415
Loss of Curl

I have been using Henna/Indigo successfully for four years now to cover my grey.  I have curly hair and just recently my they have all gone flat.  After doing research on this site I found out that this is a result of continuous use of Henna.  With additional research I have read that Amla can help restore my curls. 

I added the Amla to my last mix but I am wondering how many applications will it take to bring my curls back????  Is there anything else I can do to help restore my curls??  I really love what Henna has done for my hair; it's stronger, shiny, healthy and gives me peace of mind to not use chemicals but I really love my natural curls and want them back.  

Thanks, Megan

Carrie
Re: Loss of Curl

You can do an amla treatment on its own (not mixed with dyes) for 15-30 minutes. You may find moisturizing treatments helpful in restoring curl as well.

mgib415

Thanks Carrie,

What kind of moisturizing treatments would you recommend?  Also, if I do the Amla seperately; do you have a guestimate of how many applications I would need to restore the curl?  How often should I do the amla treatment?

Sincerely,

Megan

Carrie

You can do a homemade one like Snowymoon's Moisture Treatment (honey, aloe, conditioner) or a commercial one. There are forums especially for curlies where you'll find a boatload of recommendations ... I'm a straight-hair and I use Nexxus Humectress for moisture, but there are probably things curlies love that I don't know about :)

Places you can browse for moisture recommendations:

http://www.curlynikki.com/

http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/

You can use amla as often as your hair likes it. You may have improvement with a single use.

curlyjen

Hey Megan,