Where Are We Going?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
juliem
Where Are We Going?

My husband and I have been doing henna for 8 years - he does it full-time and I do it part-time because I also have a full-time job. We have recently started thinking about selling henna supplies and/or teaching others. However, this brings up a question: Do I want to supply others with equipment/supplies/knowledge that would allow them to compete with us in applying to festivals? The number of people applying to be henna artists at festivals has increased, but not exponentially. However, even one other henna artist at a festival is competition. People are always asking us where to buy henna. I thought selling an extremely simple, stripped-down kit would help them realize how difficult it is to produce the type of end result they get from us (for $5, often). Thoughts?

Jen
Re: Where Are We Going?

I agree. Usually when I teach a class or sell a kit, that person gets frustrated and comes back to me for one of my designs. I think selling little kits at festival venues is a great idea. I wouldn't dump a whole lot of eggs in that basket though! I found focusing on retail in this field to be frustrating, and unrewarding both financially and mentally. Personally I'm much happier when actually DOING henna is my focus.

Maggie