Moved to a new climate, need some advice

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Rosieferret
Moved to a new climate, need some advice

Hi everybody! No one probably knows me but I've been stalking the hennapage forums for roughly 6 years, used to post under the name Rosiecat (got a new pet ;) ) on occasion. Anyway, I've always been interested in henna but never did much but minor paper doodles. Well it's time to change that! I recently moved to a new state and what better time to turn over a new leaf and really pursue all the hobbies I have been putting off? Maybe you guys can give me a hand with getting started :). I have a package of yemen henna that has been sitting in my freezer since fall of 2005, it's even still in the original green bag CCJ shipped it to me in. I know the stain is probably mostly dead by now, but that makes it perfect for doodles and practice! I need help modifying my recipe though. I just moved from Corpus Christi Texas to Wellington Colorado and the climate is vastly different. Talking going from 90% humidity to around 40%. Will I need to use more lemon juice? And how much sugar should I be using? I'm looking to mix up around 5-10g to see how it does. I'm probably not going to terp this first batch until I see if it's still alive. Also, I don't have the money to spend on some cone material right now, but do you think that a sandwhich baggie made stiff with masking tape would do for a cone in a pinch?  Thank you anyone who can help me.

LemonSugarHenna
Re: Moved to a new climate, need some advice

Hi There Colorado! This is Santa Fe NM saying I have to use way more sugar in my mix, and a bit more oil to get a dark long lasting stain. Sugar is one to one with henna powder and oil is like one tsp to 2-3 TBS of henna.

Jen

"Sugar is one to one with henna powder and oil is like one tsp to 2-3 TBS of henna."

Wow! That's a heck of a lot of sugar! That would make tar in my neck of the woods. Just goes to show there's really no Simple answer for every one.