Help! Problem with dye release times!!

21 posts / 0 new
Last post
2dazzle
Help! Problem with dye release times!!

Hi everyone,always loved henna &  decided i should do it as a profession (I'm not a great artist but somewhat okay :) ) So i want to start making my own paste.After reading up most of the great information provided on this page & watching countless youtube videos i decided to give it a try.

I bought the Jamila crop 2010(100g) & rajasthani crop 2008(50g) online (it's not available here)

At first i tried mixing both the powders,let it sit 12 hrs & terped it with tea tree oil & let it sit another 12 hrs.(I also did the 5 min patch test & it was an orange)  Tried a design on my palm, it was a hopless orange & didn't even darken into a brown.Made another batch & let it sit for 8-10 hrs,even that didn't work.. Some artists mix both powders & make it & get that really dark stain!

But i read somewhere that each type of henna has different dye release times so you have to mix it separately so i tried that way ..8,10,12 16 & even 24 hrs (it said raj takes about 8-10 hrs & jamila 24)

tried raj only 1 last time..let it sit for 5 hrs & tried the patch test ,it was a bright orange.then added the EO & kept for another 1.5 hrs.but when i tried it on the back of my hand it left an orange stain that progressed into a very light brown.

Since the temperature here is usually between 75F-85F & henna releases dye faster at higher temps i'm not sure how long i should keep it for..These are my questions :)

Can i mix both henna powders together or should i mix it separately ..if so for how long should i let each one sit according to this temperature?

Is there a way to tell if i've kept it for too long or too little? (i've seen what dye release looks like)

Even though the patch test was a slightly bright orange the henna stain wasn't good..how bright should it be?