Allergic to indigo; need help with henna on grays

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
ruby red
Allergic to indigo; need help with henna on grays

First of all thank you all for such a wonderful wealth of information on this site.  It has helped me and my daughter tremendously over the years, though I'm new to henna just this year.  At first I didn't think I would want to go through all the hassle each time to maintain the upkeep, because I'm a seriously low-maintainence person.  But I'm pretty hooked on it now and actually enjoy the whole process.  It's something I do just for me and the effort of it makes me feel like I care about myself

Unfortunately, I am devastated to learn that I'm allergic to indigo.  My very first foray into henna/indigo was over the Labor Day weekend.  I am at least 50-60% gray with faded brown to dark brown hair.  I'm in my 60s and in my younger days, my hair was very very dark brown.  I rarely colored it and if I did, I stayed in the browns.  And now because my hair has thinned significantly over the last several years, I don't want to use chemical dyes to cover my grays.  My daughter has henna'd her hair red off and on over the years with wonderful results.  However, I wanted to achieve my original hair color as close as possible and knew I would need both henna and indigo.

So Labor Day weekend we did my hair with a one-step application using the Mehendi kit for dark brunette for grays.  It came out more medium brown with red because I accidently washed it when I thought I was reaching for a bottle of conditioner and got shampoo instead.  But it oxidized nicely to a pretty color and others complimented it a lot.  But it wasn't what I wanted because I didn't feel like the warm color was a good match for my skintone.