Advice to avoid red tones in light brown hair

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
VenusEnvy
Advice to avoid red tones in light brown hair

Hello! I'm a henna newbie with wavy/curly light-medium brown hair, with natural golden, almost dark blonde tones at the ends of my hair and in the wispy places around my temples. I have a lot of gray roots that I want covered. I have used the Ancient Sunrise® Henna for Gray Hair Kit: Medium Brunette twice, but find it is coming out much too red, especially on the fine, almost-blond wispy bits around my forehead. I want to avoid results that are red, orange, and auburn. I don't mind going darker than my natural hair if it means I won't see any red/orange/auburn.

I have scoured these forums looking for tips and tricks and below is a rough draft of a plan, based on what I have read here. I would love to have someone more knowledgeable and experienced confirm that this plan sounds good. I thought maybe it was amla I needed, but just learned about cassia, and am wondering if this would be better for my sort of golden brown tones mixed throughout my hair.

Plant Dyes
1 part henna
1 part indigo
.25 part amla

~ or ~

50% cassia
25% henna
25% indigo
and some amla for the curls?

Liquid
Distilled water with diluted lemon juice - or should I use apple juice instead of water/lemon?

Directions
Mix henna with amla (or cassia) and liquid and let sit 8 hours
After 8 hours, mix with indigo and apply to hair
Let sit 4 hours

After Dye
Do not use shampoo for at least 48 hours, only conditioner.

mbyrne
admin
Hi there!

Hi there!

A good golden light brown mix is generally equal parts of cassia, henna and indigo. You can add amla at a proportion of 1/4 of the amount of cassia and henna combined, to tone down any red tones in the color.

As far as the lemon juice vs. apple juice, the main difference is that apple juice is a bit more gentle on the scalp.