Terribly Itchy Scalp

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
essentiallyme
Terribly Itchy Scalp

I've been hennaing for about 4 years now. I've only ever used Mehandi Cassia, Indigo and Rajasthani Twilight Henna. I've varied only a little in my ratio over this time. Right now I do about 1/4 cup cassia, 1 T henna, 1 tsp indigo for my roots. I use organic bottled lemon juice to dye release over night, usually about 12 hours total before my hairdresser gets it for doing my roots. I dye tested a few times at first but now I can just tell if it's released by looking at it. I leave it on about 6 hours. I find any less time doesn't quite cover my gray as well. I do my roots every 5-6 weeks.

Since my last shipment of new cassia last Dec, my scalp has progressively gotten more and more itchy for several days after each application. The time before last, my scalp was SO itchy during the treatment (not just after), it almost felt like it burned. I also noticed my hair was a lot drier than normal, so this last time I mixed in a 1/2 a cup of conditioner with the treatment. During the 6 hours on my hair, my scalp was less itchy but post application the itch has been very bad again.

I've always just washed out the henna with conditioner. My hair is fine and breaks easily, so in the beginning I found shampoo was too tacky with the dirt texture of the henna, and the hair was more likely to snap. Conditioner gives enough slick to wash it out pretty well.

Suggestions!? I called Mehandi to ask if perhaps that latest shipment of cassia had noticeable differences. I left a message and I missed their return call so I haven't touched base with them. Nothing else has changed. Everything was working fine for the last 3 years. I'm bummed if I've developed an allergy....

m_moore
admin
Sorry about the phone tag!!

Sorry about the phone tag!! (I work with Mehandi)