Is there a way to safely/naturally *remove* henna?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
saffron2011
Is there a way to safely/naturally *remove* henna?
Hi all, I've been using henna on my hair for several years and love it. I've been warned that henna is permanent and I thought I was fine being a redhead for life, but lately I've really been missing my natural blond hair color. I don't really want to just grow the color out, since I'm guessing it would look pretty bizarre for a while. But I've heard trying to bleach over henna can have some pretty terrible results. Is there a way I can try to safely strip the henna from my hair? I've heard that oil can work, with repeated applications. Any advice? I could really use some help!
ACWN
Re: Is there a way to safely/naturally *remove* henna?

Oil is an old wives tale. Unfortunately, there is no real way to remove henna from the hair. When its said henna is permanent, its meant literally!

You CAN bleach it out, but by the time you get to a true blonde, you'll have to chop most of it off and whats left will be pretty frazzled. The safest way would be to start adding cassia or conditioner to your henna mix and doing roots only. This will result in a fairly gradual color change and allow you to trim the ends off as you get new growth in. It might go a little brassy on you in between, but you could do a brief, weak indigo gloss to tone down the brass.

saffron2011
Thank you! I am pretty wary of bleaching, so that might be a good idea if a remover like Color Oops doesn't work or causes too much damage. If I used cassia, what's a good ratio with henna for going back towards blonde? Can cassia lighten the color I already have at all?
ACWN

You'd want to start in small amounts of cassia and add more while adding less henna with each time you do your roots.

Cassia doesn't lighten, plant dyes cannot.