Complicated question - Edited with HTML so you can read it more easily!

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
svictoria29
Complicated question - Edited with HTML so you can read it more easily!
Hi all,

I've been using henna for a few years now. Every time I seem to play with with how much henna and how much indigo I use for my roots. My hair has gotten progressively darker due to some overlap of the new dye and the existing, and because I was trying to get more brown by using more indigo, and because I did all my hair with a mostly cassia but some henna/indigo. While I always get compliments on my hair, it just miss my lighter, old mouse-brown hair that had beautiful, light brown natural highlights.

The good news is I used Color Oops twice and have lightened my hair significantly! It hasn't gotten all the henna out, but has lifted some as well as some of the indigo. What I am trying to do is dye the roots, which are the same tone, just not as red, with a more brown color that is a bit closer to the original color. Now, I have some grey on the part of near the front, so I realize to cover that I'll need some henna and hence some red, but am wondering how to best go about this to prevent they grey from being too red. Should I:

1) Use henna/indigo/alma (i've done this the past 2 times) and leave it on less than usual to prevent as much henna taking (I have been leaving it on 4 hours) or

2) Use Cassia and henna/indigo and leave on for the 4 hours to get more saturation and prevent it from washing out of the grey (I had case where I did henna/indigo, no alma, for just 2 hours and it faded from the grey almost completely.)

Here are pictures of my hair: https://www.dropbox.com/sc/bxuy2n8ygfk54e5/dyRArBaLxw

Let me describe each pic since each one looks so different! They were all taken today.

1) The first one is how my hair sometimes looks. It usually doesn't look this dark but will indoors.
2) When the sun is on it, I will get this coppery red