Can you do anything with henna mix that has spoiled?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
carolina13
Can you do anything with henna mix that has spoiled?
Hi guys I used to use the ready-made cones to do henna parties, but then I found out about the shelf life of fresh henna and then about all the chemicals that are added to them (particularly black henna). I started to research more and make my own henna mixes. I needed to find a dark stain for darker skins to stop people in my community using the black henna. I have been researching how to get the darkest henna for a few months now and making lots of batches of henna with different brews etc. I have kept the henna design on for over 3 hours but was very disappointed with the results; I used 2013 batch henna from a reputable website shop, I added sugar, lemon juice and essential oils and my brews, left it for 2 days or more, checking it against a white towel (making it in plastic bags);and left the designs on the hand for 2-3 hours. The result was a darkish brown colour but not bright, it looked more like it had been on for over a week or more, rather than 2 days. After this, I discovered that I was getting my information from the USA where the temperature is a lot different to the UK, so I thought I had not left the mix to develop long enough, so I left the next batch of henna for an extra day. Then I discovered that no-one had said it must be airtight (many forums said just to cover it lightly with plastic wrap. I guess the air got to it too much. Even though I could see red stain coming out of the mix and the towel was yellow, the designs were very faded after 2 days. Some forums mentioned that they 'steamed' the henna mix and some added hot water. I didn't do this, but with one poor batch I got it out of the freezer, defrosted it and heated it near a radiator - I have a spot test patch of this to see if it makes any difference, which has only been on for an hour so far.... I also started mixing Indigo into the mix; it mak