First fair tips

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
TraceyB
First fair tips
Hi all. I have been doing henna for a few months, currently using pre filled cones. I have tried to make my own and after a few batches i know i need more practice on that. So i have my pre filled cones, and i use syringe applicator bottles. I am doing my first fair this weekend. Any tips and things i should know? I know i need to keep the henna cool, and thaw enough to use on people. Do you use a cooler? The weather will be low 70s, possibly pretty sunny. I will have a tent so it wont be in direct sun Should i offer only a few designs? Mostly i can only do floral, more western style stuff. some other things like hearts, peace signs, writing names, simple stuff. I dont want to get stuck with people wanting things i cant do I only feel half ready for this but i feel its a good start at this fair to throw myself to the wolves and really get the feel of what i am in for. Any tips will be greatly appreciated!
Jen
Re: First fair tips
I use a lunch box cooler for my henna.

It sounds like you know you should only take designs that you're confident about. Also, I wouldn't take anything that will take you more than 10 minutes. Try to have a variety. Even a few things for the fellas, like kanji, or small tribals.

Make sure you have paper towels, scissors, tape, and a throw pillow. You may also want baby wipes, pins to secure clothing, and hair ties. OH! and take photos :)

Make sure you have clear signage, a sheet with your contact information and after care instructions, and business cards.

Its a really good idea, if you haven't already done so, to get set up with a smart phone card reader. You can get them through either square or paypal. Then display a sign that says you can accept cards. I'd suggest that you only take cards for $10 or more because otherwise it may not be worth paying the fee. (approximately 3%) Being able to accept cars has increased my fest sales by about 25%!