Henna Advice?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Araelyn
Henna Advice?

I'm new to henna, I've read about it and have been wanting to try it for a couple years now and just hadn't gotten around to buying the supplies. I feel a bit overwhelmed now at all the different additives I can choose to mix into my henna to get a good stain and right now I don't really have time to experiment much; I want to henna myself as part of my costume for the masquerade/costume party I'm going to July 4th. I'm wearing my bellydance costume and henna would really complete it and it sort of forces me to jump in and stop waiting on trying henna out. I'd like to begin regularly using henna.

I had a couple specific questions, but really anything you can tell me would be a lot of help. About how much henna (in grams as well as any other helpful measurement) does it take for each area of the body? Just feet, just hands, arms, legs, back, torso, etc?

I do have a tiny bit of henna but I don't think it's enough and it's probably gone bad..  I also have an applicator bottle with a tiny tip, some unidentified oil that came with a kit and is supposed to be mixed in, as well as usual stuff around the house for example: lemon juice, sugar, honey, coffee, water. I don't drink coffee, but have kept serveral small hotel packets in the fridge because I read somewhere that it can be used with henna to get a darker browner stain. (EDIT: I also have the following essential oils though half of these I know shouldn't be used on skin, sweet orange, lemon, lemon grass, lavender, tea tree, peppermint, grapefruit, clove, rosemary, and eucalyptus, and can get others if needed from a store by my workplace.)  Any recipes would be helpful, or just tips on additives or tool suggestions/techniques.

EDIT: I'm located in Western Washington if this helps. Weather for the next couple days: high of 64, low of 50  about 50% humidity. The apartment usually stays between 70 and 80 degrees this time of year.