New to Henna: Processing time

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
pheres
New to Henna: Processing time

Hi....I'm new to henna and have been reading all I can.  However, I am finding limited info on how long henna should stay on to process well.  So...my question is this:  After sealing and/or wrapping how long should the henna be left on?  If I henna in the evening and seal and wrap for overnight...can it be removed in the morning? I tried to henna myself once so far with a pre-made paste that came with a henna book from the bookstore.  The henna cracked and dried and flaked off in about an hour and left minimal design.  As a matter of fact I was able to scrub off all remnants of the design the next morning in the shower. (I am fairly sure that this henna was too old for proper use and the instructions did not include sealing and/or wrapping). I have since ordered the "real deal" Henna School kit from Mehandi.com, been reading up on recipes, sealing, etc.  I want my next experience to be a good one, so any info given is greatly appreciated!

Jen
Re: New to Henna: Processing time

Yes, it sounds like you had old, sad henna. The cracking comes from a lack of sugar in the paste.

You should leave the paste on for a bare minimum of 4 hours. Eight is better.

I don't seal or wrap hardly ever anymore, except for on brides where color is critical, or on myself when I will sleep in the paste, and I don't want to wear all the crumbs.

You'll have all the help you need here, but you'll be amazed at how much information there is to be found in your henna school!

desertholly

Short and simple reply:  If you sleep in it, yes you can take it off when you get up in the morning.  Just shower before you henna, so you don't end up showering right after you take the paste off.  If you've ordered from here you will be delighted with the results after the bookstore henna experience.  : )

Eliz. R.